Immune Tolerance: Mechanism, Diseases and Therapeutics 

Suzhou, China

October 28-November 1, 2024

Abstract deadline: August 23, 2024


Organized by:

Chuan Wu, National Cancer Institute

Sun Hur, Harvard Medical School

Axel Kallies, The University of Melbourne

Bin Li, Shanghai Jiaotong University School of Medicine

Tim Sparwasser, University of Mainz

We are pleased to announce the Cold Spring Harbor Asia conference on Immune Tolerance: Mechanism, Diseases and Therapeutics which will be held in Suzhou, China, located approximately 60 miles west of Shanghai. The conference will begin at 7:00pm on the evening of Monday October 28, and will conclude after lunch on Friday November 1, 2024.

The conference will include eight oral sessions and one poster session covering the latest findings across many topics in Immune Tolerance. Many talks will be selected from the openly submitted abstracts on the basis of scientific merit and relevance. Social events throughout the conference provide ample opportunity for informal interactions.

Major Topics:

1. T-Cell tolerance

2. Humoral tolerance

3. Autoimmune diseases

4. Microbiota and mucosal tolerance

5. Tumor immune tolerance

6. Allograft tolerance

7. Fetal immune tolerance 

8. Infectious tolerance

Keynote Speaker:

Hongbo Chi, St. Jude Children’s Research Hospital

Carola Vinuesa, The Francis Crick Institute

Invited Speakers:

Jakub Abramson, Weizmann Institute of Science

Mark Anderson, The University of California San Francisco

Chrysothemis Brown, Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center

Wanjun Chen, NIH NIDCR

Chen Dong, Westlake University

Thomas Gebhardt, The University of Melbourne

Gillian Griffiths, Cambridge Institute for Medical Research

Xiaoyu Hu, Tsinghua University

Sun Hur, Harvard Medical School

Axel Kallies, The University of Melbourne

Barbara Kee, University of Chicago

Cecile King, University of New South Wales Sydney

Ludger Klein, Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität

Bin Li, Shanghai Jiaotong University School of Medicine

Li-Fan Lu, University of California, San Diego

Carrie Lucas, Yale University School of Medicine

Hai Qi, Tsinghua University

Ellen Robey, University of California, Berkeley

Gregory Sonnenberg, Cornell University

Federica Sallusto, ETH Zurich

Tim Sparwasser, University of Mainz

Bing Su, Shanghai Jiaotong University School of Medicine

Stuart Tangye, Garvan Institute of Medical Research

Hongyan Wang, Shanghai Institute of Biochemistry and Cell Biology

Sing Sing Way, Cincinnati Children's Hospital Medical Center

Chuan Wu, National Cancer Institute

Peng Wu, The Scripps Research Institute

Ye Zheng, Salk Institute for Biological Studies

We encourage abstracts to contain new and unpublished materials. The abstracts must be submitted electronically by the abstract deadline. Selection of material for oral and poster presentation will be made by the organizers. Status (fellow's talk/poster) of abstracts will be posted on our web site as soon as decisions have been made by the organizers. 

We are eager to have as many young people as possible attend since they are likely to benefit most from this meeting. A certain number of presentations by graduate students and postdocs in this conference will be selected as fellowship (USD $100-$500) awards. For more details, please visit  

We look forward to seeing you at Suzhou in October, 2024.

Sponsored by: