Functions and Regulation of Sleep

Suzhou, China

September 9-13, 2024   
Abstract deadline: July 26, 2024


Organized by:


Shumin Duan, Zhejiang University

Masashi Yanagisawa, University of Tsukuba

Maiken Nedergaard, University of Rochester

Antoine Adamantidis, University of Bern

Min Xu, Chinese Academy of Sciences

We are pleased to announce the Cold Spring Harbor Asia conference on Functions and Regulation of Sleep which will be held in Suzhou, China, located approximately 60 miles west of Shanghai. The conference will begin at 7:00pm on the evening of Monday September 9, and will conclude after lunch on Friday September 13, 2024.

The conference will include eight oral sessions and one poster session covering the latest findings across many topics in Functions and Regulation of Sleep. Many talks will be selected from the openly submitted abstracts on the basis of scientific merit and relevance. Social events throughout the conference provide ample opportunity for informal interactions.

Major Topics:

1. Sleep Regulation: Circuits and Homeostasis

2. Sleep Regulation: Molecules and Circadian Rhythms

3. Sleep Functions

4. Functions and Regulation of REM Sleep

5. Sleep-Related Disorders and Translational Research

Keynote Speakers:

Yang Dan, University of California, Berkeley

Maiken Nedergaard, University of Rochester

Masashi Yanagisawa, University of Tsukuba

Invited Speakers:

Antoine Adamantidis, University of Bern

Luis de Lecea, Stanford University

Shumin Duan, Zhejiang University

Ying-Hui Fu, University of California, San Francisco

Hiromasa Funato, University of Tsukuba

Fang Guo, Zhejiang University

Carolina Gutierrez Herrera, University of Bern

Zhili Huang, Fudan University

Qinghua Liu, National Institute of Biological Sciences, Beijing

David Prober, California Institute of Technology

Louis PtacekUniversity of California, San Francisco

Niels Rattenborg, Max Planck Institute for Biological Intelligence

Takeshi Sakurai, University of Tsukuba

Paul Shaw, Washington University in St. Louis

Liping Wang, Chinese Academy of Sciences

Min Xu, Chinese Academy of Sciences

Akihiro Yamanaka, Chinese Institute for Brain Research, Beijing

Yu Hayashi, University of Tokyo

Erquan Zhang, National Institute of Biological Sciences, Beijing

Luoying Zhang, Huazhong University of Science and Technology

And more...

We encourage abstracts to contain new and unpublished materials. The abstracts must be submitted electronically by the abstract deadline. Selection of material for oral and poster presentation will be made by the organizers. Status (fellow's talk/poster) of abstracts will be posted on our web site as soon as decisions have been made by the organizers. 

We are eager to have as many young people as possible attend since they are likely to benefit most from this meeting. A certain number of presentations by graduate students and postdocs in this conference will be selected as fellowship (USD $100-$500) awards. For more details, please visit  

We look forward to seeing you at Suzhou in September, 2024.